Skip to content

Easter Lunch

April 5, 2010
tags: ,

Boy was this ever a crazy weekend! We had church choir performances, my brother-in-law’s wedding, and we hosted the family Easter party, all this weekend! And there was a ton of cooking involved, most of which, I am sad to say, I didn’t even get a chance to take a picture of before it was all gobbled up. BUT! I did snag a picture of the cute cupcakes I made. 😀  The cupcake is just DH Banana Cake mix because I was pressed for time, but the icing is a recipe I found on Tasty Kitchen that really is the best! It was just like whip cream in texture but never melted and held its shape well enough to decorate with too, perfect for those of us who hate the really thick sugary icing some cupcakes have. I will be using this icing from now on! Just note some of the comments say it doesn’t refridgerate well, so leave it at room temperature and you’ll be fine. I used the wilton hair tip to make the grass and just topped them with some pearl jelly beans and a chocolate bunny. The chocolate bunnies were easy to make ahead of time. I just found a cute little picture of a bunny online and slipped it under some wax paper for tracing. Then I just melted a bar of chocolate in a ziploc baggie, snipped the tip, and started drawing. Let it set in the freezer for about 20 minutes and they were done! And you can store any extras in a baggie in the fridge and pull them out whenever! Personally, I think it’s much more user friendly than chocolate molds.

The entire menu was a hit (which sadly meant that every bite was eaten and none left for my lunch today 😦 )  and most dishes were new recipes I tried from my to-do list and every single one listed below was FANTASTIC and you should make as soon as you can find an excuse. I’m thinking of making those mashed potatoes again right now…

 Mashed Potatoes – yes, it has blue cheese but you cannot tell. Everyone was asking what the secret ingredient was to make it taste so good and no one believed me when I told them it was the cheese. I should have made a double batch because they were gone that fast!

Green Beans – TX roadhouse green beans are the best, and this is the closest I have found to their recipe. It has bacon, what more do you need?

Garlic Cheese Bread – monkey bread turned into garlic bread, nuff said.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

