Skip to content

Apple Hand Pi Day

March 16, 2010
tags: ,

While I was at church on Sunday I found out that it was Pi Day (Because the first 3 numbers in the formula for Pi is 3.14, how clever!) Any excuse to make a pie! 🙂 I had a leftover roll of Pilsbury Pie Crust and a bag of apples, and you can guess where I went from there! I made little hand pies to contain the mess for little ones and make them portable for lunches. I used my 3” biscuit cutter to cut out the pie dough and this size was just big enough to fit one slice of apple filling. Then I took it up a notch by brushing egg on top and sprinkling with brown sugar for a nice caramel crunch on top, that was the best part! (Not pictured here is how I used the leftover filling for my ice cream topping, yummy yum!) The filling recipe was adapted from Allrecipes.com .

Apple Pie Crescents

2 Pie Crusts – I used Pilsbury

4 Granny Smith Apples – peeled and sliced

2 tsp Lemon Juice

1 c. Sugar

3Tbsp + 1 ¾ tsp Cornstarch

1 tsp Ground Cinnamon

¼ tsp Salt

1/4 tsp Ground Nutmeg

2 c. Hot Water

1 Egg – stirred

2 Tbsp Brown Sugar

  1. Toss the sliced apples with the lemon juice to prevent browning. Combine sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon, salt, and nutmeg.
  2. Put the water in a pot and stir in the sugar mixture. Bring to a boil and boil for 2 minutes, stirring constantly.
  3. Add apples to boiling syrup and reduce heat. Cover and simmer for about 15 minutes or until apples are tender. Set aside to cool.
  4. Preheat oven to 400. Roll out pie crust and cut out 3” circles. Place one slice of apple filling on one side of circle and pinch crust closed.
  5. Brush top of pies with egg and sprinkle with Brown Sugar. Place on cookie sheet and bake for 8 minutes or until crust begins to brown. Serve warm with ice cream!
One Comment leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 4:00 pm

    I cannot believe I missed Pi day! At least “Cowboy time” comes round twice a day! (Ten to ten to ten to ten to ten to ten to ten!)

    Q.What does Batman’s mum say when it’s time for his evening meal?
    A.Dinner dinner dinner dinner dinner dinner dinner dinner BATMAN!!

    Q.What time is your dentist’s appointment?
    A.Tooth Hurty! (2.30)

    I really want to eat these crescent apple pies – they look scrumptious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

