Skip to content

Single Serving Ice Cream

February 3, 2010

The other day I stumbled upon this article at David Lebovitz’s site and I had an epiphany, if I don’t need an ice cream maker then I don’t need to make a half gallon either! Mind you, I love my ice cream as much as the next gal, but eating a half gallon by myself doesn’t help me with my diet much. I also seem to find myself in situations that would demand ice cream but alas there is none in the freezer (usually when I decide to make chocolate cake or apple pie). This is the perfect workaround for that situation because I always have the ingredients handy and there is little to no work involved. My 2 year old actually made this batch himself last night, and it is pretty tasty if I do say so myself. 🙂 This recipe has a strong vanilla flavor to it that I love, but you could easily substitute any extract flavoring you want (peppermint chocolate would be divine…) and with a small batch like this you don’t have to worry about a whole bucket of bad tasting ice cream if you mess up with your experimenting. So go crazy and enjoy! 😀

1/2 c. Half and Half

1 Tbsp Milk

A few granules of salt (like an 1/8th of a pinch, almost nonexistent)

4 1/2 Tsp Sugar

1/4 Tsp Vanilla Extract (or substitute with other flavors)

Mix-ins (optional, I used chocolate chips for this batch)

1. Stir all ingredients but the mix-ins together in a bowl until the sugar has dissolved.

2. Place in freezer for 45 minutes or until the edges start to freeze. Stir vigorously with a wisk for at least 1 minute, you really want to break up those ice crystals.

3. Put back in freezer and remove every 30 minutes to stir, add the mix-ins when the ice cream has gotten pretty thick so they don’t sink to the bottom. Ready to eat when it reaches the consistency you like or, if you are impatient like me, when you just want to eat it already! 😛

*Adapted from Allrecipes.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

