Skip to content

Beef and Bean Casserole

January 26, 2010

Let me first tell you what this is not. This is NOT an italian casserole. This is NOT a mexican  casserole. And, this is NOT Kosher, you have been warned. I am so tired of italian and mexican casseroles, they have been done to death in our house! But it seems so difficult to find any recipe that  is kid friendly and not those  flavors. So, I decided I would do some experimenting myself, and was surprised to find an instant hit! In fact, I fully intended on taking a photo of the full casserole dish,  but when I came back from the bathroom, everyone was already digging in and loving it! I scrambled to get some for myself as I saw my son lunge for a second serving, and barely saved some for my lunch today. The dish has a savory flavor with the beans adding a nice sweet touch. The tomatos and corn give little bursts of juicy flavor and the bacon is the coup de gras. If I wasn’t serving it to my kids I would have used Rotel, but my husband added Jalepenos to his plate and said it was great too! And it travels well in a bento, just add a little water before you microwave it to keep the rice from getting too firm. The picture you see above is all that  remains of my casserole experiment and I can confidently say we will be serving this again! 🙂 So, without futher ado, the recipe:

1 lb Ground Beef

1 c. Rice

1 c. Water

1 Can Kidney Beans, washed

3/4 c. Frozen Corn

1 Can Petite Diced Tomatos (or substitute Rotel if you like a little kick)

1 Can Cream of Chicken

5-6 Bacon Slices

Salt and Pepper to taste

1.Preheat the oven to 350.  Brown the ground beef in a skillet and season with salt and pepper. Drain and set aside.

2. In a 9×13 dish, combine  rice, water, corn, tomatos, and beans.

3. Sprinkle beef on top and spread cream of chicken on top as a sauce. Top with bacon slices.

4. Cover and cook in preheated oven for about 30 minutes. Remove cover the last 5 minutes of cooking. Cool and serve!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

