Skip to content

Peanut Butter Rice Krispies

March 24, 2010
tags:

So since my  little guy is going through a picky phase, he refused to even try the apple pie! I know he would adore it, but I can’t force it in his mouth either…so I decided to do a family treat next. This is just your standard rice krispie recipe with about 1/4 cup peanut butter added. We decorated with chocolate icing and M&Ms since nothing goes better with peanut butter than chocolate. :) The peanut butter actually comes through very strong, so you can lay on the chocolate and still taste the peanut butter. I pressed them into my gingerbread men cookie pan after spraying it down really well with PAM and they came out like a breeze.  And my boy was very proud of his rice krispie boy that he was doing “all by his-self”. :)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 3:26 pm

    Ace! I have never see a gingerbread man cookie pan before! Looks brill! And adding peanut butter sounds like a very tasty idea! Do you have to put golden syrup in this? That is one of the things I find very hard to get hold of here in Germany – anybody got any ideas what could be substituted or where it can be found?

    • March 24, 2010 9:13 pm

      Thank you! My mom found the pan at Williams Sonoma a few years ago, it is great if you don’t have time to roll out cookies and cut them. :) And there is no golden syrup in these, just butter, rice krispies, marshmallows, and peanut butter. You can find the original recipe on the cereal box or on their website ( http://www.ricekrispies.com/#/recipes/the-original-treats ). It’s a quick and versatile recipe, you can mix in candy, or nuts, or try it out with different cereals.

      I have substituted honey and corn syrup in place of golden syrup before, although never in a recipe that called for a huge amount to be substituted. Let me know if you find out, because golden syrup is hard to come across in the US too, I have to have my aunt bring back some when she travels over to the UK.

  2. March 24, 2010 8:58 pm

    mmmm, sounds yummy and they turned out cute using that gingerbread pan. Have you ever tried browning the butter first before making crispy treats? So good! You can find a recipe for them on my blog or on smittenkitchen.com–it’s a little different than the original b/c it calls for more butter & sea salt.

    • March 24, 2010 9:16 pm

      Oooh, brown butter sounds really good, especially with some caramel on top…I might have to try that next :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

